Safety Culture

A Strong Nuclear Safety Culture

To protect our nation and our environment, FANR is committed to the highest international standards of nuclear and radiation safety

While the safe, secure and peaceful conduct of nuclear and radiation related activities requires extensive technical expertise, instilling a strong safety culture among nuclear facility operators, regulatory entities and other competent authorities is also equally important.

In the UAE Nuclear Policy, the UAE pledged to work directly with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and to conform to its high standards in establishing a peaceful nuclear energy programme. Those standards call upon nuclear organisations to promote and maintain what the IAEA calls a rigorous safety culture.

The IAEA’s General Safety Requirements, Part 2: Leadership and Management for Safety states that, ‘Individuals in the organisation, from senior managers downwards, shall foster a strong safety culture. The management system and leadership for safety shall be such as to foster and sustain a strong safety culture’.

We have defined safety culture in FANR Regulation 01 on Management Systems for Nuclear Facilities as ‘the assembly of characteristics and attitudes in organisations and individuals, which establishes that, as an overriding priority, protection and safety issues receive the attention warranted by their significance’.

We are also committed to adopting several measures in compliance with IAEA standards. FANR operates in line with its Integrated Management System (IMS), which was established according to IAEA standards. The IMS integrates all requirements for safety, security and safeguards, it sets out our Mission, Vision and Values, and incorporates structured policies, processes and procedures that have helped us function effectively and build a strong culture of nuclear safety at FANR.

The IMS Committee, which is chaired on a rotational basis by one of the two deputy directors general, is composed of all FANR directors and the Chief Scientist. It meets regularly to openly discuss the implementation of all FANR processes. While the IMS process for self-evaluation and performance improvement empowers each of our employee to report problems and identify opportunities for improvement.

FANR’s Integrated Management System (IMS) Processes

Our senior management actively seeks to foster a working environment that encourages staff development, innovation and communication. An example of this can be seen with the creation of the FANR Culture Working Group, which was established in 2015 in order to give staff members the opportunity to discuss methods on how to improve the way we work.

FANR’s endeavours to instill a strong nuclear safety culture can be further demonstrated by its proactive engagement with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and other international experts to ensure that FANR can benefit from the most advanced nuclear practices in the world. The UAE and FANR have invited the IAEA to carry out several important peer reviews in which international experts assess the UAE’s adherence to IAEA standards.

These reviews have included

  • Integrated Nuclear Infrastructure Review (2011)
  • Integrated Regulatory Review Service (2011 and 2015 follow-up)
  • IAEA State System of Accounting for and Control of Nuclear Material Advisory Service (2014)
  • Emergency Preparedness Review (2015)
  • Occupational Radiation Protection Appraisal (2015)

We have also established strong bilateral ties with institutions and regulatory entities in advanced nuclear nations such as Argentina, Australia, Canada, Finland, France, Japan, Norway, the Republic of Korea, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

At FANR we understand that a strong nuclear safety culture is essential to our nation, its people and the environment. And at FANR we are dedicated to promoting such culture in both our own activities and to those entities conducting nuclear and radiation related activities throughout the UAE.

  • Do you find this content helpful?
  • Yes
  • No

Thank you for your opinions

Thanks - please tell us how to help you better

please enter your message and make sure less than 1000 characters.

Submit Cancel

ثقافة الأمان‎

ثقافة قوية في مجال الأمن النووي

تلتزم الهيئة بأعلى المعايير الدولية للأمان النووي والإشعاعي لحماية وطننا وبيئتنا.

بينما تتطلب الممارسات الأمنة والمأمونة للأنشطة المتعلقة بالمجال النووي والإشعاعي خبرات فنية واسعة، فإن إرساء ثقافة أمان قوية في أوساط مشغلي المرافق النووية والجهات الرقابية وغيرها من الجهات المختصة لا تقل عنها أهمية.

وفي السياسية النووية لدولة الإمارات، التزمت دولة الإمارات بالعمل مباشرة مع الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية، وبالامتثال لأعلى المعايير في إنشاء برنامج سلمي للطاقة النووية؛ حيث تتطلب هذه المعايير من المنظمات النووية ترسيخ ما تسميه الوكالة الدولية "ثقافة أمان قوية" والحفاظ عليها.

وينص الفصل الثاني من المتطلبات العامة للوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية الذي يحمل عنوان "القيادة والإدارة من أجل الأمان" على ما يلي: "على الأفراد داخل المنظمة، من كبار المديرين وما دونهم، تعزيز ثقافة أمان قوية. ويتعين أن يعمل النظام الإداري والقيادة من أجل الأمان لتعزيز ثقافة أمان قوية والمحافظة عليها".

وقد قمنا بتعريف ثقافة الأمان للهيئة في لائحة الهيئة رقم 1 "لائحة النظم الإدارية للمرافق النووية على أنها "مجموعة الخصائص والمواقف المعينة لدى المنظمات والأفراد التي تضمن أن قضايا الوقاية والأمان تلقى العناية التي تتناسب مع أهميتها وأولوياتها".

كما تلتزم الهيئة بإتباع عدد من التدابير امتثالا لمعايير الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية. حيث تعمل الهيئة وفق "نظام إداري متكامل" ، وهو نظام وضعته الهيئة وفق معايير الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية. ويدمج النظام الإداري المتكامل كافة متطلبات الأمان والأمن والضمانات، ويؤسس لرسالة الهيئة ورؤيتها وقيمها، ويوحد السياسات والعمليات والإجراءات المهيكلة التي مكنتنا من العمل بفاعلية وإرساء ثقافة أمان نووي قوية في الهيئة.

تتألف لجنة النظام الإدراج المتكامل، والتي يتولى رئاستها أحد نائبي المدير العام بالتناوب، من جميع أعضاء مجلس إدارة الهيئة ومن كبير العلماء. وتعقد اللجنة اجتماعاتها بصفة دورية لمناقشات تنفيذ جميع عمليات الهيئة بشفافية. كما أن تحسين عمليات النظام الإداري المتكامل للتقييم الذاتي وتحسين الأداء تشجع كل موظف بالهيئة على الإبلاغ عن المشكلات وتحديد فرص التحسين.

العمليات المتبعة في النظام الإداري المتكامل

تسعى الإدارة العليا للهيئة سعيًا دؤوبًا إلى ترسيخ ببيئة عمل تشجع على تطوير الموظفين ومقومات الإبداع والتواصل لديهم. ويمكن الوقوف على مثال لذلكن حيث شكلت الهيئة "مجموعة عمل الثقافة بالهيئة" في العام 2015 بغرض إعطاء الفرصة لموظفي الهيئة لمناقشة طرق حول كيفية الارتقاء بأساليب العمل.

ويمكن أيضا البرهنة على مساعي الهيئة في إرساء ثقافة أمان نووي قوية من خلال مشاركتها الفاعلة مع الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية وغيرها من الخبراء الدوليين من أجل ضمان الاستفادة من الممارسات النووية الأكثر تطوراً على مستوى العالم. وقد وجهت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والهيئة الاتحادية للرقابة النووية الدعوةَ إلى الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية لإجراء العديد من استعراضات النظراء الهامة والتي يقوم من خلالها الخبراء الدوليين بتقييم مدى التزام الدولة بمعايير الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية.

وقد اشتملت الاستعراضات المذكورة على ما يلي:

  • الاستعراض المتكامل للبنية التحتية النووية (2011)
  • خدمة الاستعراض الرقابي المتكامل (في 2011 ثم والمتابعة في 2015)
  • البعثة الاستشارية لنظام الدولة لحساب المواد النوية ومراقبتها التابعة للوكالة الدولية (2014)
  • استعراض التأهب للطوارئ (2015)
  • تقييم الوقاية الإشعاعية المهنية (2015)

علاوة على ما سبق، فقد أقامت الهيئة علاقات ثنائية قوية مع المؤسسات والجهات الرقابية في الدول النووية المتقدمة؛ مثل الأرجنتين وأستراليا وكندا وفنلندا وفرنسا واليابان والنرويج والجمهورية الكورية وروسيا والمملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

تعي الهيئة أن إرساء ثقافة أمان نووي قوية هو أمر ضروري لوطننا وشعبنا وبيئتنا. ونحن عازمون في الهيئة على تعزيز هذه الثقافة في أنشطتنا وفي الجهات المعنية بالأنشطة النووية والإشعاعية ذات الصلة بمختلف أنحاء الإمارات.

  • هل تجد هذا المحتوى مفيد ؟
  • نعم
  • لا

شكراً على آرائكم

شكرا".. كيف يمكننا تحسينة؟

يرجى كتابة رسالتكم والتأكد من انها أقل من 1000 حرف

تقديم إلغاء